How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Settle a Claim in PA?
The unexpected happened: you were injured in a car accident. Now what? Who is considered to be a-fault for the accident? Who will pay your medical bills? How long will it take to recover compensation from the insurance company? When you or someone you love has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, it’s important to know how long an insurance company has to settle a claim in PA. Continue reading to learn more.
Read more: How Do You Determine Who Is At Fault In An Auto Accident?
How Does Car Insurance Work in PA?
Pennsylvania is what’s considered to be a choice no-fault state. This means that drivers in the Keystone State can opt out of the no-fault system which usually has a driver turn to their own insurance carrier to offset any cost associated with a motor vehicle accident. If you decide to opt out of this no-fault coverage, then you have the right to file a lawsuit against another driver. However, the caveat is that you open yourself up to lawsuits, as well.
If you choose to opt into the no-fault coverage, you will be required to turn to your own personal injury protection – or PIP. Under this coverage, drivers must carry at least $15,000 per person in bodily injury liability insurance, up to $30,000 per accident. They must also carry $5,000 in property damage insurance.
How Long Do I Have to Report My Car Accident to the Insurance Company in PA?
Pennsylvania law requires drivers to report their accident within five days. When reporting your crash to the insurance company, it’s important to provide them with the following information:
- The date and time of when the accident occurred
- Your description of what happened
- The other driver’s personal information, including name, insurance carrier, address and license plate
- The VIN numbers of all the vehicles involved
- The number of your insurance policy
- The police report, if there was one filed
Read more: What Are The Chances Your Car Accident Case Settles?
What Happens After I File the Report With My Insurance Company?
Once you notify your insurance company, they have 10 business days to acknowledge your claim and 30 days to investigate it to determine whether or not you are entitled to compensation.
Remember, even though the insurance company claims to be on your side, they’re not. Insurance companies are always concerned with keeping their bottom line, which means they will use any justification to either not pay you or pay you way less than what you and your family reasonably need to get by. When talking to the insurance company, keep to the facts and don’t offer up additional information, especially if they didn’t ask for it.
Read more: How Do You Win A Personal Injury Claim?
Contact a Pittsburgh Personal Injury Lawyer to Discuss Your Car Accident Case in Pennsylvania
Did you or a loved one sustain serious injuries due to a car accident in Pennsylvania? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled attorneys at Berger & Lagnese, LLC represent clients injured because of car accidents in Pittsburgh, Beaver, Uniontown, Greensburg, New Castle, and throughout New Jersey. Call 412-471-4300 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 310 Grant Street, Suite 720, Pittsburgh, PA 15219.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.